New era set for Village Board; provisional, late-arriving ballots boost D102 referendum

Updated Friday, April 7 to reflect new vote total in D102 referendum. Update also includes revision to include   Donald Tyer  as a winner in the Dist. 125 School Board election. Updates appear in red.


    In an election that had all the excitement and interest of a house painting, Eric Smith was officially elected Village President of Buffalo Grove.  Smith, along with Village Clerk Jan Sirabian and trustees Greg Pike and David Weidenfeld were re-elected in the uncontested election. Frank Cesario was elected to a first term as village trustee, also in an uncontested election.

Eric Smith talks with well-wishers
            Smith thanked supporters in an election night reception at The Continental restaurant, citing State Sen. Adriane Johnson (D-30) for “helping get us on the ballot and for advocating for Buffalo Grove.” 

            Smith also cited outgoing Village Board President Beverly Sussman for her endorsement and support. He also noted Sussman’s 29 years of service to the village, the last eight as Village President. Sussman was unable to attend the reception due to illness.

            Paraphrasing the late president, John F. Kennedy, Smith said he’s hoping residents ask not what the village can do for them, but rather what they can do for the village. Smith noted the village’s initiatives related to community engagement including branding and focus groups.

            In contested races of interest, a referendum for $49 million in school building bonds appeared to be by nine votes, 658-649. However, as of 4:15 p.m. on Friday, April 7, passage of  the referendum had moved ahead.  According to the Lake County Clerk's election result website, there were 792 yes votes and 734 no votes. 

            The hotly contested race for three School Board members in Adlai E. Stevenson School District 125 was won by Amy Neault, Shu (Grace) Cao, Roni S. Ben-Yos, and Donald Tyer.

            Results, according to the Lake County Clerk’s office, include early voting, and vote-by-mail ballots. Provisional ballots and late arriving vote-by-mail ballots are not included in the results posted Tuesday night. The Lake County Clerk’s website did not indicate when those ballots would be counted. Lake County election results are available at this link while Cook County results are available at this link.

            As of Friday, April 7, Lake County indicated there were 33,167 ballots not counted.  Of that number, 213 were provisional, 6,368 were returned mail ballots and 26,586 ballots that were mailed, but not returned. Lake County officials indicate that Vote By Mail ballots are counted 14 days after the election and the results are certified.
            Lake County officials listed the voter turnout at 12.07 percent.  The turnout in suburban Cook County was a estimated 13.01 percent.


Popular posts from this blog

Cops investigate rash of vehicle burglaries / 1st business opens in The Clove / Trick or Treat hours set

"Historic Day" for village's retail growth / BG Days set / Library's network expands

Shopping plaza hit by two crimes / BG Road foes get more visible / 'Go Green" event set